Overdue

So for the past couple days, I’ve been at the hospital with Moonshine’s mom. Remember how I said I wasn’t gonna go because I was a liar and a horrible friend? Yeah. I lied about that, apparently.

She managed to convince me to go with her. We’ve been seeing her mom every day. She’s got her own little room in the hospital where they check up on her and keep her company when Moonshine and I aren’t here. We stay there for a couple hours a day. I don’t say much. I don’t know what to say. I’m not much of a social person in situations like that. But it’s enough for Moonshine that I was there with her. She hasn’t said it but I can tell.

She stays there with her mom more often than she’s with me now. It’s because her mom is doing worse lately. The tumor’s getting bigger, faster than they had anticipated. I don’t want to be there. I don’t want to see her mom die. I don’t want to be reminded of what happened with mine. But I’m there anyway. I’m there for Moonshine, because she was there for me last year.

So I sit there every day now, listening to Moonshine read her mom Lolita and Ruby Justice comics. It’s nice, hearing her read like that. She has a really nice voice and she doesn’t use it much with me anymore. She’s never read anything to me.  I just so happen to like the stuff she’s reading too, so…bonus. I guess. I just wish the context was different. If we were at home and her mom wasn’t dying, I’d probably…

Well. Let’s talk about something else. Like patrolling! Which I haven’t actually been properly doing. I haven’t really felt like it. I know. I’m a superhero. I have superpowers! I shouldn’t let emotions or whatever get in the way of doing my job. But you know what? I may be a superhero but I am also a teenage girl and teenage girls have drama shit going on too. If I put on my outfit and went out to patrol for bad guys, somebody would probably end up dead. Again. And not in the cool way.

I can tell you this, though. It looks like Bound Radical and Dr. Synergy are gonna get into a fight with each other. Whatever, I hope they kill each other. Or at least I hope he kills Creepervy. That’s what I call Synergy. Well, I say “call”, but I really just started doing it as of that last line. I think it fits.

I haven’t heard from Fleshmonger in a while. Nobody has. He seems to have gone into hiding or super research mode or something. I still don’t have a tight grasp on what his deal entirely is, so I can’t say for sure. Maybe he does this all the time. Maybe he doesn’t.

The Hypno-Terrorist is important too. I’ve been hearing police reports about him lately. I haven’t gone by the station much if ever because I don’t particularly fancy the Barracuda, but we still have all these computers and stuff at home and we still make good use of them. Most of them are Moonshine’s doing. Some of them are her dad’s. Her disappeared dad, now. As for the Hypno-Terrorist, though, there’s something about him that I can’t really place that I know from somewhere. I don’t know what it is, but I get the weirdest feeling of deja vu whenever I hear something about him.

Knowing my life and knowing comic books, this is probably gonna bite me in the ass somehow. Just watch, he’ll come up and hypnotize the crap out of me every which way but north and I’ll lose my memory. Just like I said would happen in my first post! Though maybe this jinxes it so it doesn’t happen…nah, that never works with this crap.

Speaking of my first post, hard to believe that was only 20 posts ago. Doesn’t feel like it now. It feels like it’s been dozens and dozens of posts, but I guess that’s just what happens with time and whatnot. Weird time shit and all. Whatever.

To be honest, I’m kind of bored. I don’t really like it when things get all complex like they have been over February, but it’s better than…this. Better than nothing. Not nothing, this isn’t nothing. And parts of right now are nice, like the whole bit with Moonshine reading things, but…it’s not as much as it could be. Y’know?

Leave a Reply

